Skip to content

Celebrating the Easter Bunny with a Quick How-to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

April 27, 2011

Easter Eggs

Easter is one of my mother’s favorite holidays, mainly because I was born in the year of the rabbit so she loves anything that has to do with rabbits. Since we’re not religious, I don’t think my mother knows that Easter is actually celebrating resurrecting of Jesus. Come to think of it… that means that we’ve just been celebrating a fairy tale story about a well dressed rabbit bringing baskets of sweets, toys and Easter eggs to kids. That’s a bit embarrassing, especially since I’m no longer a child and am still helping my mother decorate the house with Peter Rabbit collectibles and dying Easter eggs for the little ones to find.

This year was no different, I woke up on Easter Sunday to find what is usually an empty family room to a Peter Rabbit wonderland. After a quick banter on where to hang the Happy Easter banner (yes we had a banner… oh did I fail to mention that we HOST the annual family Easter party) I was put to work. Thankfully, I was NOT on the decorating committee and only responsible for cooking the Easter eggs.

Now, I don’t know about you but I’m very particular about hard boiled eggs. I absolutely hate it when they are over cooked, rubbery, and have the greenish ring around the outside of the yolk. Usually another member of the extended family will bring the Easter eggs, but as much I appreciate their kind contribution I could not take another dozen plus over cooked hard boiled eggs.

Most people make the mistake of just throwing the eggs into a pot hot boiling water and boiling the eggs until THEY think it’s done which by then is most likely well over cooked. If a boiled egg is overcooked, the whites are rubbery, the yolk is dry and a greenish ring will appear around the egg yolk. The green ring doesn’t affect the taste but it does harm the protein and it just doesn’t look all that appetizing. You can prevent this by chilling the eggs in ice cold water for a few minutes after they are done cooking.

The process of cooking hard boiled eggs correctly is actually much simpler than the wrong way that many do it. You start by placing the eggs in a pot of COLD water to cover completely. Bring to a rolling boil over high heat, after boiling for 2-3 minutes turn the heat off and let the eggs cook for 13-15 minutes. Remove from heat and immediately place eggs in a bowl of ice cold water. Chill for a few minutes in the cold water until they are completely cooled and they are ready to be peeled.

But WAIT! before you sprint off to buy a dozen eggs. Have you ever struggled with peeling a hard boiled egg, where it’s just impossible to peel off the tiny cracked shells? Well that’s because it was a fresh egg, an egg that is just a day or two old is almost impossible to peel. As eggs age, the shells will peel more easily. You can test for the freshness by dropping the egg into a bowl of water, a fresh egg will sink and an old egg will float. Try to use eggs that are at least 5 days old but within 1 month old and always keep them refrigerated.
Here’s a trick to peeling a boiled egg so the egg white does not stick to the shell: fill a bowl or pot with cold water, crack the egg all around and peel it in the water. As soon as you find where the air pouch is and water fills that bubble it’s smooth sailing from there.

Hard Boiled Eggs

Hard Boiled Egg
Makes: 12 eggs

12 large eggs (at least 5 days old)
ice bath

1. Place eggs in a pot and fill it with enough COLD tap water to cover completely by 1 inch. Bring to a rolling boil over high heat. Once the water has come to a boil for 1-2 minutes, turn the heat off and let the eggs sit in the water to 10-15 minutes.

2. After the eggs are fully cooked, carefully place the eggs into a bowl of ice cold water to stop the eggs from cooking. Once the eggs have completely cooled, they are good to go for your enjoyment.

*Cook Times for boiled eggs
1-4 minutes for large soft-cooked eggs
12-15 minutes for large hard boiled eggs
Printable Recipe

Hard Boiled Eggs

I’m super glad I made my own hard boiled eggs this year since we had over a dozen left over after the egg hunt, so I’ll be eating these for the next week or so… now I just have to find more creative ways to use these eggs!

Cheers & until next time Happy Rabbit Day!

Share

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bunny Eats Design permalink
    April 28, 2011 2:27 am

    I love boiled eggs and I’m happy to report that it’s been a long, long time since anyone served me one with green tinge in the yolk. I think people are generally getting better at cooking these days. I guess with the internet, there’s no good excuse not to know how to boil an egg. I adore your cute little egg cups but I have no use for egg cups. As soon as I peel an egg I’m about to eat, it doesn’t make it to the table, it goes right into my mouth. Potato and egg salad is one of my favourite ways to eat boiled eggs. Add some mayonnaise, bacon and fresh herbs and you have yourself a meal.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

