Skip to content

Mochi! What a Delicious Sticky Mess

March 31, 2011

Mochi

I love ending my meals with something sweet, so it’s no different when it comes to brunch. I was really in the mood for something warm and chewy but nothing too heavy. After my incredibly filling Japanese breakfast I wanted to end my morning with a traditional Japanese dessert, the red bean daifuku commonly known as mochi.

The daifuku is a traditional Japanese sweet treat made with mochi dough and stuffed with a sweet filling such as red bean paste. The easiest way of making the mochi dough is by using prepared sweet rice flour, Mochiko, mixed with water and cooked until it becomes opaque and elastic. Then the sticky dough is dusted heavily with cornstarch and powdered sugar, filled and formed into various shapes. The most important part about morphing these little sticky dough balls is that you HAVE to make sure that your hands and the balls are generously covered with the cornstarch mixture otherwise you are just going to end up with a gooey sticky mess.

You can stuff mochi dough with all sorts of different fillings such as green bean paste, fruits and even ice cream. I just so happen to have Anko, red bean paste, in my fridge. So red bean daifuku it is! The flavors are light, and not overly sweet. I like my mochi warm, while the dough is still soft and chewy and the inside filling is slightly cold; It creates a nice contrast in textures. This sweet treat is the perfect end to my breakfast.

Red Bean Daifuku
adapted from Kitchen Meditation

1 box       mochiko (3 cups)
2 cups     white sugar
3 cups     water
2 drops   rice wine vinegar
2 cups     corn starch
2 cups     powdered sugar
1 cup       anko (red bean paste)

1. In a microwavable large glass bowl, mix together the mochiko,  granulated sugar, and vinegar until all lumps are gone. Microwave uncovered for two minutes. Mix (preferably with chopsticks), and then microwave for another two minutes. Mix again, the mixture should be getting firmer. Microwave for another minute, mix, and then microwave in thirty second increments and mix as it gets hotter and more elastic. The mochi dough will look opaque and feel like a sticky blob when it is done.

2. Allow the dough to cool on the counter so you can handle it. While it cools, form your red bean paste into marble sized balls. In a flat dish, mix together the corn starch and powdered sugar. The cornstarch/powdered sugar mixture is KEY, it will dampen the stickiness of the mochi dough.

3. Dust your hands with the cornstarch mixture and continue to do so as you go along. When the dough has cooled, scoop a golfball size piece of dough and drop it into the cornstarch mixture. Lightly coat the the outside of the dough, roll the dough into a ball, then flatten to form a 3 inch circle.

4. Place the red bean paste in the center and pinch the edges together to seal. Roll the ball in the cornstarch mixture again, then roll between the palms of your hands to create and nice ball shape. Repeat until finished.

*Note: Mochi can be left at room temperature for a few days or refrigerated for longer keeping.

Printable Recipe

Mochi

This being my first time making daifuku I was not so pleasantly surprised by how sticky the dough is so they don’t look too attractive but I was told by my Japanese friend that the flavors are pretty close to the traditional ones!! If you don’t believe me try the recipe and then go out to your nearest Asian market like an H Mart and buy one of their Mochi cakes and compare for yourself and let me know what you think!

Share

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 10:26 am

    yum! i love ending my meals with something sweet too! great pics

  2. April 5, 2011 6:37 pm

    I love making mochi. I think yours came out quite beautifully, even though it was your first time.

  3. April 5, 2011 7:05 pm

    Ohhh, I love mochi and I especially love red bean mochi. I don’t know if I have the courage to try making them myself though. Yours look awesome!

    • April 5, 2011 9:58 pm

      Thanks for all the wonderful compliments!! I think red bean mochi is so underrated, we need to spread the word on how delicious it is.

  4. October 23, 2011 10:13 pm

    I’m a self-confessed mochi addict and I just love this mochi with red bean. They’re classic! Nice post, it’s very helpful. I would love to try venturing into some kind of cooking one of these days.

  5. yambean permalink
    August 5, 2012 2:28 pm

    Hi we don’t own a microwave how can I make it without one?

    • August 13, 2012 9:38 am

      I ‘ve personally never made it without a microwave however since my current kitchen is lacking one I looked around for an alternative to making mochi. The best solution I found was making it in a steamer such as a rice cooker or double boiler. Try this post: http://www.ehow.com/how_5497725_make-mochi-rice-cake.html

      • yambean permalink
        August 13, 2012 10:15 am

        Thanks that’s great! Do you know how to make those ownderful slices of soy-sauce dipped dried yams?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

